Discuss

What's the Hardest Thing About Being an Entrepreneur?

What do you think?

Is it balancing your work load with your family and friends? Is it trying to learn all of these new things all at once? Is it the pure stress of having to work too much?

And, do any of you have any tips for how you deal with these difficult things?

0 Likes

I think one of the hardest things about being an entrepreneur is understanding fear, and not letting it paralyze you.

I had this insight on the ski slopes (oddly enough)… I was just back from a knee surgery, worried about getting hurt again, and staring down from the top of a really challenging run (note: I’ve been skiing for 50 years and I’ve skied lots of pretty tough runs). I realized that if I let the fear control, I would be “all wrong” - leaning back on my skis, seeking safety - and in fact, what I need to do to succeed was lean into the slope, get my weight forward, reach into the gravity.

It’s not about ignoring the fear, or “conquering” it - not in my mind anyway. It’s about seeing it, recognizing it, recognizing that it can distort your perspective, and also recognizing that it’s there for the simple reason of trying to keep you safe.

So embrace it: see it, listen to it to a point, have it be your constant companion on the journey - because it will be no matter what. But don’t let it stop you from moving forward, from trying things. Build skills that give you the tools to move through it - much as you might practice skills on an easier slope before skiing the really hard stuff.

I hope this is helpful!

Martin

1 Like

Hey Martin!

Great answer - do you think there’s a point at which leaning forward isn’t the right answer? How do you know when the risk is too high? Do you turn to your investors or mentors to figure this out?

• Claire
0 Likes

Hmmmm - interesting question. What I’m hearing in the question is: when is the right time to stop?